Positive and Negative Slopes  TOPIC_SOLVED

Simplificatation, evaluation, linear equations, linear graphs, linear inequalities, basic word problems, etc.

Positive and Negative Slopes

Postby luv2laugh on Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:21 pm

I am a beginner at algebra. I understand the formulas for finding the slopes and solving linear equations. I don't understand all the ins and outs of it, but I do have a good working knowledge of the concepts. What I need is some direction. I have been asked the following question.

Consider a system of linear equations in which the slope of one line is positive and the slope of the other line is negative. Will the system always have a solution? Explain how you know.

I read that horizontal lines do not have a slope and dividing by zero is undefined, but does that mean it is not a negative slope? I could benefit from some clarification on the question, as well.
luv2laugh

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Positive and Negative Slopes

Postby Martingale on Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:03 pm

luv2laugh wrote:I am a beginner at algebra. I understand the formulas for finding the slopes and solving linear equations. I don't understand all the ins and outs of it, but I do have a good working knowledge of the concepts. What I need is some direction. I have been asked the following question.

Consider a system of linear equations in which the slope of one line is positive and the slope of the other line is negative. Will the system always have a solution? Explain how you know.

I read that horizontal lines do not have a slope and dividing by zero is undefined, but does that mean it is not a negative slope? I could benefit from some clarification on the question, as well.

Another way of asking: If one line has positive slope and the other has negative slope, will the lines always intersect?
Martingale

Re: Positive and Negative Slopes

Postby luv2laugh on Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:36 pm